The choice that matters
PDU totals, category allocation and applicable credentials can differ. Seven Patterns has conflicting store and CCRS category splits. Stanford advertises PDUs, CEUs and PDHs; these units are not interchangeable. Scrum.org attendance credits are separate from passing its assessment. Broad-program CAPM education hours are not automatically PDUs.
Compare the training routes
Compare the advertised curriculum, practice and the conditions relevant to this decision. Credit eligibility and certification can depend on assessment, attendance or your existing credentials. Open a course profile for its provider sources and recorded check dates; confirm current fees and access before enrolling.
Scroll across the table to compare all columns. Follow a course title for its full profile.
| Training route | Curriculum, practice & fit | Credits & credential | Time, fee & enrollment |
|---|---|---|---|
| Generative AI Overview for Project Managers Project Management Institute PM-specific | Curriculum: AI/GenAI distinctions; Resource allocation, schedules, documentation, risk and costs use cases; ChatGPT lab and AI tool library Practice: Provider describes a hands-on overview with lab and experimentation; graded assessment not established. Fit: A low-commitment starting point to identify PM uses before buying a live workshop. | Credits: PDU TOTAL: 5; Business acumen: 1; Ways of working: 4; Power skills: 0 Credential: Confirm the completion or assessment credential with the provider. | Delivery: Self-paced online Time: Headline course duration 1 hour; 5 PDUs advertised separately. Do not treat 5 PDUs as 5 hours video. Fee: No tuition fee — tuition Enrollment: Official free course listing present; enrollment not tested. |
| Practical Application of Generative AI for Project Managers Project Management Institute PM-specific | Curriculum: Meeting summaries to inbox drafts; Team skill-gap plans; Requirements/test traceability; Industry monitoring database; AI presentations; Data extraction; Excel/Copilot resource tracking; Risk dashboards Practice: Approximately 5 hours hands-on practice claimed; independent assessment not established. Fit: A substantive free practical route spanning multiple PM artifacts; budget separately for execution tools. | Credits: PDU TOTAL: 5; Business acumen: 2; Ways of working: 2; Power skills: 1 Credential: Confirm the completion or assessment credential with the provider. | Delivery: Self-paced online Time: 5 hours Fee: No tuition fee — tuition |
| PMI Essentials: Seven AI Project Patterns Project Management Institute PM-specific | Curriculum: Seven AI patterns, examples, misuse and ethics; Scenario selection against goals and constraints; Data needs, roles, feasibility and stakeholder implications; Apply reasoning with PMI Infinity or preferred LLM Practice: Short lessons and scenarios; graded assessment not established. Fit: A free way to assess whether an initiative calls for AI and what the choice means for delivery. | Credits: PDU TOTAL: 5; Credit conditions: headline course total; category and credential-specific allocations require confirmation Credential: Confirm the completion or assessment credential with the provider. | Delivery: Self-paced online Time: 5 hours Fee: No tuition fee — tuition |
| PMI-CPMAI Exam Prep Course & Certification Bundle Project Management Institute PM-specific | Curriculum: Business needs/feasibility/ROI; Data needs and preparation; Iterative model development; Testing, explainability and drift; Operationalization/governance Practice: Scenario exercises, case studies, workbook and independent study; certification exam 120 questions/160 minutes. Fit: For leading delivery of AI systems, with tool-agnostic lifecycle structure and an assessed credential. | Credits: PDU TOTAL: 21; Business acumen: 7; Ways of working: 11; Power skills: 3; Credit conditions: maintenance of other PMI credentials; CPMAI itself requires 30 PDUs/3 years Credential: PMI-CPMAI credential after exam; prep completion alone is not certification. | Delivery: Self-paced prep plus certification exam Time: 21 hour prep Fee: Confirm with provider — regional and membership bundle fee |
| AI-Powered Project Excellence: Roadmaps, Success Strategies and Practical Tools Project Management Institute PM-specific | Curriculum: AI value matrix and adoption roadmaps; Excel-based AI models and KPI dashboards; Planning, forecasts, resource allocation; Legal/security/ethics Practice: Interactive group cases and hands-on tools advertised. Fit: For a broad practical roadmap before specializing in automation. | Credits: PDU TOTAL: 14; Business acumen: 7; Ways of working: 7; Power skills: 0 Credential: Confirm the completion or assessment credential with the provider. | Delivery: Live instructor-led; formats in sessions Time: 2 days Fee: 1,735 USD — per-person member headline; Full price: 2,112 USD; Checkout has not been tested Enrollment: Dated sessions advertised |
| AI-Powered Project Management: Certificate Interactive Workshop Stanford University IT Technology Training PM-specific | Curriculum: Prompted project artifacts; Resource/budget forecasts; Performance dashboards; Status reports/meeting/documentation workflows; Connectors/MCP, skills/projects, live artifacts and scheduled agents; Capstone Practice: Interactive workshop with capstone named; assessment/feedback rubric not published. Fit: Detailed workshop with desktop requirements and capstone; useful for live practice and campus delivery. | Credits: PDU TOTAL: 12; Ceu: 1.2; Pdh: 12 Credential: Stanford UIT Technology Training certificate and advertised Certified AI-Powered Project Manager designation upon successful completion; not academic degree. | Delivery: Live online 6 sessions/3 weeks or 2 campus days Time: 12 instruction hours; campus clock 9–4 includes longer elapsed time Fee: 1,200 (currency not stated) — live online posted dollars; Campus: 1,550 (currency not stated); Group quote: 5+same team quote |
| Professional Scrum Master – AI Essentials Scrum.org Broader workflows | Curriculum: AI / GenAI / agent concepts; Facilitation and Scrum Events; Practical prompting; Responsible AI behaviors Practice: Interactive exercises / discussions; certification assessment 85% pass. Fit: Assessed role credential for Scrum practitioners; compare actual trainer delivery and keep dates as sessions of the course. | Credits: PDU TOTAL: 7; Credit conditions: course attendance; separate from passing assessment Credential: PSM-AIE: course attendance qualifies for included attempt; second attempt conditional on first attempt within 14 days. | Delivery: Trainer-led, one-day equivalent; private / virtual / in-person options vary. Time: One-day course Fee: Confirm with provider — chosen independent trainer |
Check your credit eligibility
Confirm the credit category, eligibility, attendance or assessment conditions, and what completion record you need for your professional body.
